Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Aviation chatter - For ALL Pilots and Aviation Enthusiasts

Moderator: Moderators

CJL
Fuelling up
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:25 pm
Closest Airfield: HANGAR
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by CJL » Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:18 pm

We put one in our 182. Great upgrade. Paid just over 60k for everything.
User avatar
Rotor kop
Seven Thousand
Seven Thousand
Posts: 7285
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:43 pm
Closest Airfield: OR Thambo
Location: Wherever there is good diamond gravels...
Has liked: 113 times
Been liked: 15 times

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by Rotor kop » Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:12 pm

TikkaT3 wrote:
cage wrote:
TikkaT3 wrote:.. So why can't you install a experimental G5 in your type certified aircraft?
Because you need an STC for anything that goes into a certified aircraft.
There is a certified G5 and an uncertified one - the latter is far cheaper, almost half the cost.
A Garmin 296 doesn't have an STC as far as I'm aware and there are plenty of these panel mounted and wired-up in certified AC?

These required mod-approvals (and were approved) in the past, and all STC'd avionics could be merely installed with a 8130 and logbook entry?

Now the CAA, for all avionics (regardless of STC or not) require it to go through a mod approval process (because they've canned the STC equipment just needing a 8130 and logbook entry), so why not then just buy the experimental one and get them to approve it?

Summary: If you buy a STC avionics, you require a CAA mod approval. If you buy non-STC'd equipment, you require a CAA mod approval.
Makes perfect sense thanks
To fly is Heavenly, but to HOVER is Divine
I'm not driving fast - i'm flying low
User avatar
cage
Niner Tousand
Niner Tousand
Posts: 9922
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:47 am
Closest Airfield: FAGC
Location: ..for the grass 35
Has liked: 13 times
Been liked: 258 times

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by cage » Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:27 pm

Check with your avionics company.
It's not that cut and dry..
Lood
Fower Tousand
Fower Tousand
Posts: 4313
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 11:45 am
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 7 times

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by Lood » Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:32 pm

The Garmin 296 is not a primary instrument and in its case, the mod approval is when you have it flush mounted in a panel dock.
If you replace your AI with the G5, however, you are replacing a primary and compulsary flight instrument and the G5 you’re going to use has to be the certified version. It has to be accompanied by an 8130 and STC documents, from the manufacturer. Only then will CAA take their cut by means of their ridiculous mod approval and will it be legal.
"An airplane might disappoint any pilot, but it'll never surprise a good one." — Len Morgan
Goose1
Frequent AvComer
Posts: 636
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 3:20 pm
Closest Airfield: FAWB
Location: Pretoria, FAWB
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 4 times

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by Goose1 » Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:18 am

Mauler wrote:If anyone has experience installing a G5, please let us all hear about it.
I have fitted a G5 in my RV after a AH failure and it’s a GRATE instrument. It’s so easy to install it fits in a standerd instrument hole(no cutting or mods), you just have to conect it to you pitot and static system. Fit a gps antenna and conect it to a circuit braker. It took longer to remove all the old stuff then fitting the new.
G5 with out a standby Battery weighs : 253g
Old stuff removed weighted: 4.3kg

Groete
Goose1
Hans de Beer
AME A and H
PPL A and H
RV8 ZU-KEA
TikkaT3
Taxiing to Clubhouse
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 12:30 pm
Closest Airfield: Potchefstroom
Location: In the clouds
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 4 times

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by TikkaT3 » Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:42 am

Lood wrote:The Garmin 296 is not a primary instrument and in its case, the mod approval is when you have it flush mounted in a panel dock.
If you replace your AI with the G5, however, you are replacing a primary and compulsary flight instrument and the G5 you’re going to use has to be the certified version. It has to be accompanied by an 8130 and STC documents, from the manufacturer. Only then will CAA take their cut by means of their ridiculous mod approval and will it be legal.
Lood, what if you keep your existing DI and fit the G5 in an existing open hole in your panel?
Cessna 182
User avatar
savas
Too Tousand
Too Tousand
Posts: 2606
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 5:18 pm
Closest Airfield: FABB
Location: Benoni
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 7 times

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by savas » Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:51 pm

Thats a great question, some avionics guys comment pls
Lood
Fower Tousand
Fower Tousand
Posts: 4313
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 11:45 am
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 7 times

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by Lood » Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:43 pm

TikkaT3 wrote:
Lood wrote:The Garmin 296 is not a primary instrument and in its case, the mod approval is when you have it flush mounted in a panel dock.
If you replace your AI with the G5, however, you are replacing a primary and compulsary flight instrument and the G5 you’re going to use has to be the certified version. It has to be accompanied by an 8130 and STC documents, from the manufacturer. Only then will CAA take their cut by means of their ridiculous mod approval and will it be legal.
Lood, what if you keep your existing DI and fit the G5 in an existing open hole in your panel?
I stand to be corrected, but I’m sure, in that case, it will be treated the same as a G296, but agree with Savas that it would be best to consult an avionics pro.
"An airplane might disappoint any pilot, but it'll never surprise a good one." — Len Morgan
SJ@Farmacres
Lining Up
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:31 pm
Closest Airfield: FAKD
Location: Klerksdorp
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by SJ@Farmacres » Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:38 am

V5 - LEO wrote:
cage wrote:There is a certified G5 and an uncertified one - the latter is far cheaper, almost half the cost.

....with exactly the same functions!

Actually not! The Certified version can only be bought as either a DI or an AH. While the Ntc is both and can be switched in flight (mini EFIS)...
User avatar
V5 - LEO
Fife Thousand feet
Fife Thousand feet
Posts: 5953
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:18 pm
Closest Airfield: FYWH
Location: Namibia
Has liked: 53 times
Been liked: 47 times

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by V5 - LEO » Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:44 am

SJ@Farmacres wrote:
V5 - LEO wrote:
cage wrote:There is a certified G5 and an uncertified one - the latter is far cheaper, almost half the cost.

....with exactly the same functions!

Actually not! The Certified version can only be bought as either a DI or an AH. While the Ntc is both and can be switched in flight (mini EFIS)...

....well then functional wise it is the better option too!
In God I trust. The masses are never right, the minority are sometimes right, but the truth is always right.
“One good teacher in a lifetime may sometimes change a delinquent into a solid citizen.” — Philip Wylie
User avatar
Mauler
10000 and still climbing
10000 and still climbing
Posts: 10050
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 4:52 pm
Closest Airfield: Vans
Location: Tarlton
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by Mauler » Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:09 pm

Lood wrote:The Garmin 296 is not a primary instrument and in its case, the mod approval is when you have it flush mounted in a panel dock.
The 296 is portable and is not itself a modification requiring an STC or mod approval, since it is not permanently attached to the aircraft.

However, there have been issues with using the AirGizmo panel docks, which are screwed in.

Any feedback on the current CAA stance on using these on certified aircraft?
TikkaT3
Taxiing to Clubhouse
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 12:30 pm
Closest Airfield: Potchefstroom
Location: In the clouds
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 4 times

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by TikkaT3 » Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:06 am

[/quote]Any feedback on the current CAA stance on using these on certified aircraft?[/quote]

I was told that to be legal, I would need to go through the full mod approval process with the CAA if I were to mount a Garmin 296 to my panel with an airgizmo mount and connected to the 12V power supply ( so also need the whole wiring diagram story).
Cessna 182
User avatar
markus_m2
1k poster
1k poster
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:33 pm
Location: Pretoria
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 7 times

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by markus_m2 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 11:07 pm

Reviving this old topic -

Overhaul existing A/H or replace with Garmin G5?
These users liked the author markus_m2 for the post:
fly for fun 2
User avatar
Cornell Blok
Seven Thousand
Seven Thousand
Posts: 7032
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 9:04 am
Location: FALY
Has liked: 134 times
Been liked: 27 times

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by Cornell Blok » Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:48 am

G5 :D
Petrol attendant in Training/Car Wash Supervisor

http://www.travelairva.com
av8
Engine Started
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:06 pm
Closest Airfield: Rand
Location: Randburg
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Service AI or fit Garmin G5

Unread post by av8 » Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:01 am

I have just been through the exercise of putting the G5's in my mooney.
I did the AH and the HSI coupled to the autopilot.

You are welcome to give me a call and I can tell you the my experience.
Brilliant piece of kit. I have heard the OAT gad 13 is almost here, opens up the G5 to a whole new level.

Return to “General Aviation Chatter”