Moderator: Moderators

Alan Robertson
Frequent AvComer
Closest Airfield: FAGC or front garden
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 15 times

I took my last flight as PIC and it was great

Unread post by Alan Robertson » Sat Mar 02, 2019 6:41 pm

I always wondered what it was going to be like to close my logbook for the last time. Now I know.

I’ve been flying helicopters since 2005 and in that time have had the pleasure of part owning 3 beautiful machines. The two R44’s are sadly no more, but the H120 (which I still part own) still flies out of the Ultimate Heliport in Midrand. Prior to 2005 I was a fixed wing PPL and owned a Cherokee 6. But when my partner veered off a runway and I was plane-less, I ended up doing an introductory flight in an R44 with Stephan Bosman from Hover Dynamics, and man, could he fly. We hadn't even cleared the fence past Runway 17 at Grand Central when I knew I was hooked. Who would want to fly an airplane when you could stop in the sky in this thing; when you could autorotate vertically whilst pedal turning through 360 degrees and then land on a dime.

Since then I've flown helicopters in 4 different countries; landed in back gardens, hotels, roads, petrol stations, golf courses, schools, hospitals, mountains, beaches, and on a large rock on a waterfall on the Wild Coast. My favourite landing spot has always been the confined space in our front garden between the trees and the swimming pool, where lifting out on a beautiful morning with my wife meant anything from a breakfast flight to De Hoek or a day flight to Kimberley. I've flown in the day and at night, between thunderstorm cells; flown low, flown high, followed rivers. I’ve done pleasure flights, business flights, charters, photoshoots, and as safety pilot. I’ve flown responsibly for the most part but I've also misbehaved and buzzed friends and places; followed my wife for 20 kilometres as she drove through Fourways, and I've raced a McLaren up a runway for some TV show.