DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Aviation chatter - For ALL Pilots and Aviation Enthusiasts

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
hjs
Airborne from Unmanned field
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 7:54 am
Location: FATP
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 13 times

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by hjs » Fri Oct 22, 2010 10:09 am

Had a look at the strip on G-Earth. It is plus-minus 450 m. Is there enough runway to stop the DC6? And I assume it wont be flying out again?
Pixel Pilot
"Kaartmaker" van beroep
Die aarde is rond! Kyk net na die kaart!

Hennie Stander
User avatar
ZSAHT
Frequent AvComer
Posts: 615
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 4:57 pm
Closest Airfield: Nelspruit
Location: Nelspruit
Has liked: 5 times
Been liked: 5 times

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by ZSAHT » Fri Oct 22, 2010 10:22 am

Nico Willemse wrote:I would love to be there....
I would also like to be there and witness this historic flight.... Although, I am going to be at the AFB Hoedspruit Airshow, watching all the Military hardware. Hope that my fellow AVCOMMERS will post pic's.
"That is not called flying, that is called crashing with STYLE!"
Goose1
Frequent AvComer
Posts: 877
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 3:20 pm
Closest Airfield: FAWB
Location: Pretoria, FAWB
Has liked: 110 times
Been liked: 159 times

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by Goose1 » Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:44 pm

hjs wrote:Had a look at the strip on G-Earth. It is plus-minus 450 m. Is there enough runway to stop the DC6? And I assume it wont be flying out again?
The runway is now 700m after the mod's. Will take fotos tomorrow :D
Hans de Beer
AME A and H
PPL A and H
RV8 ZU-KEA
Aviat Husky ZS-MEN
Jaws
1k poster
1k poster
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 9:14 pm
Closest Airfield: Lanseria
Location: Germiston FAGM
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 29 times

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by Jaws » Fri Oct 22, 2010 10:08 pm

Hi all, DC-6 website and DC-6 aircraft for charter see http://www.thedc6.com Kind regards Jaws
John Austin-Williams
saamuseum.co.za
User avatar
Mark WJ
Lining Up
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:18 pm
Closest Airfield: FACT
Location: all over africa
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by Mark WJ » Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:45 pm

hi guys...ive tried through various webs to find the owner/s this machine

even Kiki at Rand cant help...dont fly her into this strip...

pm me and cash in hand....
wish i was flying now
Bearcat
thirty thousand
thirty thousand
Posts: 38104
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 11:51 pm
Closest Airfield: Grand Central
Location: JHB
Has liked: 661 times
Been liked: 3374 times

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by Bearcat » Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:30 am

CAPT DANGER wrote:hi guys...ive tried through various webs to find the owner/s this machine

even Kiki at Rand cant help...dont fly her into this strip...

pm me and cash in hand....
Capt D,
Seems the owner is Goose 1 ...on Avcom ...on this thread
User avatar
Ray W
10000 and still climbing
10000 and still climbing
Posts: 19110
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 4:17 pm
Closest Airfield: OR Tambo
Location: Atlasville.
Has liked: 2587 times
Been liked: 781 times

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by Ray W » Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:18 am

You going to be there, Bearcat ?
Old age & treachery will triumph over youth & skill
Le Chavalier du Ciel
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by Le Chavalier du Ciel » Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:24 am

CAPT DANGER wrote:hi guys...ive tried through various webs to find the owner/s this machine

even Kiki at Rand cant help...dont fly her into this strip...

pm me and cash in hand....
Capt Danger I have pm you with contact details of owners.
Also go to http://www.dc-6.co.za for more info on the aircraft.

On that runway length issue.
It measures about 800meters from fence to fence.
DC-6 will need at least 900meters to land.
Datasheet from an original 1948 DC-6 operators manual attached. Interesting :?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jaws
1k poster
1k poster
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 9:14 pm
Closest Airfield: Lanseria
Location: Germiston FAGM
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 29 times

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by Jaws » Sat Oct 23, 2010 8:16 am

Hello Captain Danger

Jaws here from SAA Museum Society www.saamuseum.co.za as well as dc-3 and dc-6 websites etc. I met with the owner about 3 months ago and put forward my suggestion that the aircraft should go to an aviation museum for all to see and not go somewhere remote. My main point is that all humans on this planent are custodians of this planent and all that is on it, both natural and human made. My worry is not the immediate future but when the new owners pass on then what happens to the a/c if no one is interested in it... gets cut up and lost forever. I could ramble on for hours here .... I have contact details for the new owners but suggest you chat to Leon Steyn first as he is driving the Swartkop side of the project. His and my contact details are on the www.dc-6.co.za website. Also have a look at http://www.thedc6.com/ :D
cheers, Jaws
John Austin-Williams
saamuseum.co.za
User avatar
Christopher
Fower Tousand
Fower Tousand
Posts: 4261
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 8:43 pm
Location: Gloucester (The Perfect Storm), Mass.
Has liked: 413 times
Been liked: 112 times

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by Christopher » Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:03 pm

Cher Monsieur le Chevalier,

<On that runway length issue:
It measures about 800meters from fence to fence.
DC-6 will need at least 900meters to land...>

It looks to me as though there is an uphill slope to that landing field? Mind you, by the time anyone reads this, it will perhaps already be a fait accompli? (A <successful> fait accompli, at that!)
Christopher Godfrey (always missing aviation!)
User avatar
Thys Bas
Frequent AvComer
Posts: 852
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: FAWB, Pretoria
Has liked: 71 times
Been liked: 19 times

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by Thys Bas » Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:41 pm

Congrats Goose! I did not know! You never said you are going to buy such a big airie! So that's why the Kitfox2 is for sale? :lol: :wink:


Only joking!


The landing strip is partially on Goose's property, but the DC6 does not belong to Goose1. The rest of the landing strip stretches over the neighbour's property. The DC6 is going to be parked on another property not belonging to any of the propery owners? :shock:
Goose1
Frequent AvComer
Posts: 877
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 3:20 pm
Closest Airfield: FAWB
Location: Pretoria, FAWB
Has liked: 110 times
Been liked: 159 times

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by Goose1 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 8:00 pm

Hi all

Ja Thys the kitfox wont even pay for the fuel

The runway is 700m long
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Hans de Beer
AME A and H
PPL A and H
RV8 ZU-KEA
Aviat Husky ZS-MEN
User avatar
ZuluBen
Six Tousand
Six Tousand
Posts: 6612
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Gaborone, Botswana
Has liked: 9 times
Been liked: 10 times

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by ZuluBen » Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:55 pm

Some sites forecast the possibility of rain for Saterday as high as 90% .

Would this effect the decition to fly?

If so, would the fly / no fly decition be taken on Saterday morning, or possibly on Friday?
It is very important to buy your fresh stock of memory pills before you run out completely ...
INVEST IN AFRICA, BUY A POLITICIAN!
Now a legal UFO driver as well !! A2 - UFO
User avatar
dbeerp1
Tripped over wheel chock
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:00 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by dbeerp1 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:57 pm

Some more prep on runway, looks much better.
For those joining us for the day remember to bring some sun protection!
photo.JPG
1.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My Crossfire gives me wings!
User avatar
Thys Bas
Frequent AvComer
Posts: 852
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: FAWB, Pretoria
Has liked: 71 times
Been liked: 19 times

Re: DC-6 to fly out of Swartkop?

Unread post by Thys Bas » Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:22 pm

Welkom op AVCOM debeerp1, geniet dit nog meer! (as om te lees sonder om te post).

Break Break, Goose1, wat het van die telefoonlyn/kraglyn geword wat op die noord-punt van jou baan was? Dit lyk of die pale wat op die vorige foto's was nie meer daar is op die laaste foto nie.

Die weer gaan hopelik goed genoeg wees. SAWS voorspel 30% kans vir donderbuie, en soos ons gewoond is, sal dit seker eers wees wanneer ons reeds gewaai het. Dit is egter nog te ver in die verskiete toekoms om nou al te besluit. Wind net 5knts wes vir die oggend. Hou duim vas.

Return to “General Aviation Chatter”