Gold Rating for 50cc Gas???

Members of SAMAA have volunteered to monitor this forum from time to time. Please read the Terms & Conditions of it's use in the announcement within the forum.

Moderator: Moderators

marsman7222
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Gold Rating for 50cc Gas???

Unread post by marsman7222 » Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:48 pm

Hi there
I am fairly new to RC Modelling(+ 2 years) and have a real problem understanding the SAMAA rule that anyone that owns/flies a 50cc or whatever size petrol engine aircraft should be accompanied /supervised by someone that has/ have a Gold Rating themselves.This being said flying a RC Model Helicopter is in my opinion far more Dangerous than the Aeroplanes(Just ask the okes flying them these things have a mind of their own).What makes the Nitro model's propellor less dangerous than the petrol engines? Why is is that you can be trained flying your RC Helicopter with an instructor next to you whilst hovering a few metres away a machine that will decapitate/seriously injure you but you can not fly a petrol engine rc model.What about the jets? They are even more dangerous than their petrol or nitro counterparts.Please I am asking you guys to seriously consider this.There may be a rule that states that whenever a Petrol engine model is started it should be secured to the ground etc.The rule is misleading and for the people who loves this hobby and is not interested in Flying/Competing at events etc. a real pain in the butt.Thx
Last edited by marsman7222 on Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
tanglefoot
Fower Tousand
Fower Tousand
Closest Airfield: FAGC
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 2 times

Re: Gold Ratimg for 50cc Gas???

Unread post by tanglefoot » Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:22 pm

Hi marsman,

Can you copy a quote of the relevant 'rule' on this forum :?: I haven't seen it myself.
Wings are for fairies. Runways are for models...........................................