Drone surveillance for local community

Unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), commonly known as a drone and also referred to as an unpiloted aerial vehicle and a remotely piloted aircraft (RPA) by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), is an aircraft without a human pilot aboard.

Moderator: Moderators

Paul Veldhoen
Wanna Fly
Closest Airfield: FAGG
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 0

Drone surveillance for local community

Unread post by Paul Veldhoen » Sun Jul 19, 2020 10:58 pm

Good day. I am new to this forum and like to explore the possibilities of setting up drone surveillance in my local community. I am a licensed drone pilot with RPL issued by SACAA and I am aware of the legal boundaries of drone usages in SA. Due to recent increased crime in our usually peaceful country side area we have been exploring drone applications to enhance safety without compromising our members invasion of privacy.
Can anybody assist me?
Many thanks
Paul
My passion for the gracious seas have expended to the beauty of the unlimited skies 😁
_juju_
Preflighting
Closest Airfield: Phisantekraal
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 5 times

Re: Drone surveillance for local community

Unread post by _juju_ » Mon Jul 20, 2020 11:26 pm

I'd hate to be the pessimist, as I'm sure it is well meant and needed (have had this mentioned on our local neighbourhood WhatsApp group as well). You'd probably find VLOS a problem, so you'll need a BVLOS licence. Then there's the big one, R O C. Of course there would be other things like battery life, etc. And who'll all be flying, only you? What about the equipment, who's paying for maintenance, etc.? Assuming you're only flying in day time, but of course there will probably be a greater need at night, another hurdle and further licence.

However, I'd like to see you succeed, so I'll be keeping a keen eye here.
Paul Veldhoen
Wanna Fly
Closest Airfield: FAGG
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 0

Unread post by Paul Veldhoen » Sat Jul 25, 2020 10:27 pm