G430 Nav Data Update

RNAV, GNSS, GPSS. Your place to discuss all aspects pertaining to Instrument Flying.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Hop Harrigan
1k poster
1k poster
Posts: 1012
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:55 pm
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 19 times

G430 Nav Data Update

Unread post by Hop Harrigan » Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:11 pm

I have just loaded the latest Jeppesen navdata update for my G430’s. I notice that there’s no procedure for the Plet PY cloudbreak. Is Plet somehow not a ‘registered’ approach or is there another reason?
Anyone know?
Hop
There is no gravity...the Earth sucks
User avatar
Orthin Opter
Frequent AvComer
Posts: 851
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 4:35 pm
Closest Airfield: Tranquility
Location: Back of the moon
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 39 times

Re: G430 Nav Data Update

Unread post by Orthin Opter » Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:42 am

Perhaps due to the inefficiency of the incumbents in the regulating body?
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=151647&p=1560723&hi ... s#p1560723

and an old posting of yours...
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=164109&p=1651170&hi ... g#p1651170
"All great truths begin as blasphemies." George Bernard Shaw.

"The main vice of capitalism is the uneven distribution of prosperity.
The main vice of socialism is the even distribution of misery." Winston Churchill.
User avatar
Hop Harrigan
1k poster
1k poster
Posts: 1012
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:55 pm
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 19 times

Re: G430 Nav Data Update

Unread post by Hop Harrigan » Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:50 pm

(I posted this response in the Chatter forum in error...)
Hi OO,
Dunno about that...the chart is still on the SACAA website, just not in the G430 database.
wiedevokweet
Hop
There is no gravity...the Earth sucks
Plettflyer
Fuelling up
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 3:45 pm
Closest Airfield: FAPG
Has liked: 2 times
Been liked: 0

Re: G430 Nav Data Update

Unread post by Plettflyer » Sat Nov 04, 2017 10:13 am

Chart is also active/current on my Jepp EFB Hop, so I do not think it has been withdrawn.
User avatar
cage
10000 and still climbing
10000 and still climbing
Posts: 10056
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:47 am
Closest Airfield: FAGC
Location: ..for the grass 35
Has liked: 15 times
Been liked: 298 times

Re: G430 Nav Data Update

Unread post by cage » Sat Nov 04, 2017 5:13 pm

Hop Harrigan wrote:(I posted this response in the Chatter forum in error...)
Hi OO,
Dunno about that...the chart is still on the SACAA website, just not in the G430 database.
wiedevokweet
Hop
What nav database are you using? Remember not to use worldwide, all "short" fields have been dropped as the database is full.
You need to use the Atlantic database to get most local fields.
User avatar
Hop Harrigan
1k poster
1k poster
Posts: 1012
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:55 pm
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 19 times

Re: G430 Nav Data Update

Unread post by Hop Harrigan » Sat Nov 04, 2017 8:20 pm

Hi Cage,
Yes, I’m using the worldwide database...thought it was the only way to get RSA. Does it require a change of subscription to get the Atlantic database?
Hop
There is no gravity...the Earth sucks
User avatar
cage
10000 and still climbing
10000 and still climbing
Posts: 10056
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:47 am
Closest Airfield: FAGC
Location: ..for the grass 35
Has liked: 15 times
Been liked: 298 times

Re: G430 Nav Data Update

Unread post by cage » Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:53 am

Hop Harrigan wrote:Hi Cage,
Yes, I’m using the worldwide database...thought it was the only way to get RSA. Does it require a change of subscription to get the Atlantic database?
Hop
If you check on Flygarmin it will show the areas covered by a database.
Terrain and nav data have different names for the database.
On the 430 the nav database may be called "international" or south Atlantic (if I'm not confusing nav with terrain database names). RSA is in 2 or 3 databases, off the top of the head.
Worldwide has a warning on it about runway exclusions.
I created a waypoints file that gets loaded on the SD card to add stuff that was missing, was easier to maintain than loading by hand.

Subs has to change, yes, but if you bought one recently and are still covered, you can ask your local garmin agent to assist - they may help swap but no promises.
User avatar
Hop Harrigan
1k poster
1k poster
Posts: 1012
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:55 pm
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 19 times

Re: G430 Nav Data Update

Unread post by Hop Harrigan » Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:13 pm

Many thanks Cage...will talk to Century Avionics abt it
Thanks for the heads up
Hop
There is no gravity...the Earth sucks
User avatar
cage
10000 and still climbing
10000 and still climbing
Posts: 10056
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:47 am
Closest Airfield: FAGC
Location: ..for the grass 35
Has liked: 15 times
Been liked: 298 times

Re: G430 Nav Data Update

Unread post by cage » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:23 pm

Hop Harrigan wrote:Many thanks Cage...will talk to Century Avionics abt it
Thanks for the heads up
Hop
Tell Shane to sort you out.
If the avionics guys do updates for you they have a habit of applying worldwide by default which is problematic for local travel.

I checked our flygarmin and it is International for Nav, and South atlantic for terrain (obviously yours wouldn't be HTAWS).
Screen Shot 2017-11-06 at 14.01.36.png
Screen Shot 2017-11-06 at 14.01.54.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Hop Harrigan
1k poster
1k poster
Posts: 1012
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:55 pm
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 19 times

Re: G430 Nav Data Update

Unread post by Hop Harrigan » Wed Nov 08, 2017 1:54 pm

Ja, I download the updates myself (International) but will talk to Shane about changing my subscription...Jepp are very difficult to contact
Hop
There is no gravity...the Earth sucks

Return to “Instrument Flying”