ADS-B, to equip, or not

Questions for Air Traffic Navigation Services.

Moderator: Moderators

Taildraggerdriver
Finals (unmanned) for a Full Stop
Posts: 422
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:04 pm
Closest Airfield: faps
Location: Far west

ADS-B, to equip, or not

Unread post by Taildraggerdriver » Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:58 am

Hi there,
ADS-B out is pretty simple to understand and the benefits are obvious.
My question
Does ATNS “re broadcast” ADS-B data to benefit ADS-B in equipped airplanes.
In other words.
If my airplane is “ADS-B in” equipped, will I see any data on a display ,
I am not referring to TCAS or ACAS.
Cheers.
C180
C210
Cirrus
User avatar
heisan
Fower Tousand
Fower Tousand
Posts: 4914
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Closest Airfield: Rhino Park
Location: Pretoria

Re: ADS-B, to equip, or not

Unread post by heisan » Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:21 am

The current plan does not include ADS-B broadcasts, except in some CTRs. So you don't get any of the information services in SA.

But, if you get an ADS-B transponder with ADS-B In capability, then you can see the position of all other ADS-B equipped aircraft in the area (from direct reception of their ADS-B broadcast).
Justin Schoeman

ZU-FSR (Raven)
Taildraggerdriver
Finals (unmanned) for a Full Stop
Posts: 422
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:04 pm
Closest Airfield: faps
Location: Far west

Re: ADS-B, to equip, or not

Unread post by Taildraggerdriver » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:28 am

heisan wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:21 am
The current plan does not include ADS-B broadcasts, except in some CTRs. So you don't get any of the information services in SA.

But, if you get an ADS-B transponder with ADS-B In capability, then you can see the position of all other ADS-B equipped aircraft in the area (from direct reception of their ADS-B broadcast).
That’s what I guessed, but wasn’t sure.
Thanks
Justin
C180
C210
Cirrus

Return to “ATNS”