Ask George

Australian designed and manufactured Jabiru Aircraft/

Moderator: Moderators

GerritvR
Heli Pilot agrees to buy Super.
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 12:13 pm
Closest Airfield: Rustenburg
Location: Rustenburg
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Ask George

Unread post by GerritvR » Mon Aug 27, 2012 8:35 pm

Guys, as Ben said, I have got the T-shirt and one is enough,thanks. If the red light starts blinking, do a precautionary and sort it out on the ground.
Ben is also correct in possible causes as he was present when we sorted out my issue. Just an additional word of warning, if the red light blinks in flight but stops after landing and you find the header tank full on landing it might still not just be a faulty sensor but also a restricted breather line. Why do I say so? Well if you pull power on descent for a precautionary, your gravity feed might now exceed the fuel burn which, given enough time, will allow the header tank to fill up again. This will mask a possible kinked feeder tube or restricted breather tube and cause you to erroneously suspect your sensor! :shock:
T4flyer
1k poster
1k poster
Posts: 1083
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 7:05 am
Closest Airfield: Lanseria
Location: Springs
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Re: Ask George

Unread post by T4flyer » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:52 pm

Just a question, has anyone done a flow test from their main tanks?

Why I ask is that running at 22 -28 litres per hour you will be consuming only 366 - 466 millilitres per minute, surely the gravity flow system from the wing tanks should be at the absolute least 1 litre a minute. If the header tank fuel level is low and only fills up when you power back or after standing on the ground you must have a serious problem :shock: the quantity of fuel gravity flowing into the header tank at any given time needs to be at least 1.5 - 2 times the maximum flow rate that the engine is capable of consuming (usually full power for take-off)

My thoughts anyway, Cheers, Don.
Garfield
Taxiing
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 3:02 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Ask George

Unread post by Garfield » Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:09 am

Hi all.I took my plane for the first time to Oom Leon for my authority to fly. He filled the oil with Shell W100. I always use Shell W100 plus and note that I consume much more oil than previously. I also note that W100 Plus is thicker than W100. Is it not better to use only Shell W100 Plus???? :?: :?: :?: :?:
User avatar
BigglesSA
Fower Tousand
Fower Tousand
Posts: 4357
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 4:09 pm
Has liked: 19 times
Been liked: 5 times

Re: Ask George

Unread post by BigglesSA » Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:56 am

Same oil. Plus has aditive specificly for Lycs or Contiy heads, can't remember.
Groetnis
Francois Gouws
“I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things. ” Antoine de Saint-Exupéry“
User avatar
ZuluBen
Six Tousand
Six Tousand
Posts: 6593
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Gaborone, Botswana
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 3 times

Re: Ask George

Unread post by ZuluBen » Thu Oct 04, 2012 2:52 pm

The "Plus" is for the increased price .... :twisted: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Biggles is spot on.
T4flyer
1k poster
1k poster
Posts: 1083
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 7:05 am
Closest Airfield: Lanseria
Location: Springs
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Re: Ask George

Unread post by T4flyer » Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:33 pm

I seem to remember that "plus" had the same or similar additives as the multi-grade oil :? If you are going to change oil at 25 hours as per the latest recommendation (some of us always have [-( ) straight W100 should be fine. However if you buy a case of W100 plus and supply the oil to Leon I'm sure he will not mind.

Cheers, Don.
Jay-Jay Jordaan
Too Tousand
Too Tousand
Posts: 2261
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 4:43 pm
Location: Vanderbijlpark
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Ask George

Unread post by Jay-Jay Jordaan » Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:42 pm

I'm a Jabiru owner to be and went through this thread and learned a lot. Why did it stop :?: .
Last edited by Jay-Jay Jordaan on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ZU-NOTHING
User avatar
ZuluBen
Six Tousand
Six Tousand
Posts: 6593
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Gaborone, Botswana
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 3 times

Re: Ask George

Unread post by ZuluBen » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:02 pm

:?: We are all clever now :?:

Just kidding.

I am sure in time you will find questions to post here, we learn something new on a regular basis.

In the meantime, practice on your plane to fly with the ball IN THE MIDDLE! Let me know when you have figured out why ... :twisted: :wink:
Jay-Jay Jordaan
Too Tousand
Too Tousand
Posts: 2261
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 4:43 pm
Location: Vanderbijlpark
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Ask George

Unread post by Jay-Jay Jordaan » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:31 pm

impossible. I sit in the left seat and have both balls there. :lol: :lol:
I suppose it all has to do with the fuel in the wing tanks and the low fuel warning lights.
ZU-NOTHING
juan.marais
Flight Planning
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 1:49 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Ask George

Unread post by juan.marais » Thu May 09, 2013 5:10 pm

Here in the Cape Town area, would the Shell W100 be efficient?
User avatar
ZuluBen
Six Tousand
Six Tousand
Posts: 6593
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Gaborone, Botswana
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 3 times

Re: Ask George

Unread post by ZuluBen » Thu May 09, 2013 5:28 pm

Can see no reason why it should not be ...
Chrisman
Taxiing
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:06 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Ask George

Unread post by Chrisman » Sat May 11, 2013 6:31 pm

Dear Len
Hope you can help me on this one.
Since buying my J230 (PBB;738) I am still battling with my radio reception.
Works fine while on the ground. As soon as she is airbound lots of interference
with reception on my side ; transmitted message received 5/5 by other planes.
Had her back at factory as well as 3 other people to search for the problem.
Everyone just checked the installation and said they could not find any problem.
The radio has even been replaced and an external antenna been installed ; still
no difference.
Any other planes with the same problem ?
I am really desperate to find a solution as it is unpleasant to have reception like this,
especially in controlled airspace.
Any suggestions ?
Greetings
Joël Naude
User avatar
HappyJabi
Frequent AvComer
Posts: 734
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:27 am
Closest Airfield: FAVG
Location: Durban
Has liked: 10 times
Been liked: 1 time

Re: Ask George

Unread post by HappyJabi » Sat May 11, 2013 6:46 pm

ZU - ECR + 1
Gravity never loses! The best you can hope for is a draw!
User avatar
ZuluBen
Six Tousand
Six Tousand
Posts: 6593
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Gaborone, Botswana
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 3 times

Re: Ask George

Unread post by ZuluBen » Sun May 12, 2013 10:05 am

Joel, what radio are you using?

Audio panel or not?
Chrisman
Taxiing
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:06 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Ask George

Unread post by Chrisman » Sun May 12, 2013 12:45 pm

Ben
I had a Icom A210 at first.
Currently a MGL V10.
Making use of the builtin intercom.
Joël.

Return to “Jabiru”