Aviation Trivia, Jokes & Humour

Moderator: Moderators

kudu177
1k poster
1k poster
Closest Airfield: Rand

Regrets, I have a few

Unread post by kudu177 » Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:23 pm

I found a bunch of my old high school reports in the garage and spent a day reading them. Turns I wasn't a hopeless kid after all but, wow, plenty of unfulfilled potential in those dry pages. Got me thinking about the things I most regret NOT doing.

1. Not sticking with my piano lessons, because I was too lazy to practice, and giving up, aged 15, after I had been playing for five years.
2. Not buying Horace's beautiful Piper Colt, when the time was right and the money was there ...
3. Not saying "yes" to the the Vietnamese engine crew who offered me a free ride in the cab of their snorting steam loco on a night freight from the port of Haiphong to Hanoi, all because I knew it would take all night and I didn't want to miss out on the action with my mates in Hanoi (there wasn't any :roll: )
4. Not sailing on from Luderitz to St Helena island aboard the sailing ship Picton Castle after I had already voyaged from Cape Town on the same ship ...
5. Not saying "YES!" to the beautiful girl who shucked off all her kit in the warm afternoon sun at a secret waterfall near Pilgrim's Rest one day and said ...! (I told her she was crazy, go figure)
6. Not sticking up my hand right away when the instructor came into our tent at SAAF Gym during the first week of basics and said "Wie wil Luglaai toe?" ("Who wants to be an air loadmaster?") We had already learned the opvok way to NOT put our hands up for anything; the one oke who did got the best NSM job you could have in the SAAF.
7. Not trying when they started offering us Zulu lessons at junior school.
8. Not going to my best mate's wedding when he got hitched at a fantastic four-day party in Delhi, India. Too wrapped up in my own <<moderated - language>>.