PPL or NPL?

Questions for RAASA

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
happyskipper
Tree Tousand
Tree Tousand
Posts: 3751
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 6:55 pm
Closest Airfield: FQNC
Location: In the cloud
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

PPL or NPL?

Unread post by happyskipper » Wed May 27, 2015 7:49 pm

Hi, I hope you can give me some answers.
I have a lapsed PPL, for nigh on 15 years. 250 odd hours, General radio license.

I have recently purchased an LSA aircraft with a MTOW of 499 kg. (Jodel D18)
I have investigated the requirements for me to get my PPL current again, and the requirements are:
Apply for a SPL
Re-write Air Law
Do sufficient duel and solo to comply with recency and currency requirements. (And obviously pass the initial PPL test) Do a full initial PPL flight test.
Hold a class 2 medical


Now, I don't really require a PPL to fly the LSA, and I would like to keep costs down, so,if I apply to do a NPL would I have to begin the NPL from scratch, or would it be the same as a lapsed NPL? Can a Grade 2 FI do the training and skills test required for NPL?


Would I be able to do the training for the PPL/NPL on my aircraft (obviously meeting all the requirements regarding getting the a/c onto an ATO's books), or would I need to hire expensive aircraft that I have no intention of flying afterwards, and then do a conversion onto the LSA?

Would I need to have a PPL if I intend flying outside the borders of SA (Mozambique specifically)?

Thank you for your assistance.
Mark 8)
AKA "happyslipper", "slappykipper" ... etc.. :lol:
User avatar
heisan
Fife Thousand feet
Fife Thousand feet
Posts: 5569
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Closest Airfield: Rhino Park
Location: Pretoria
Has liked: 29 times
Been liked: 153 times

Re: PPL or NPL?

Unread post by heisan » Wed May 27, 2015 7:59 pm

NPL needs specific permission from the foreign country to fly - so that is an extra piece of paper to chase for cross border ops. Most people just ignore it, but rest assured, your insurance won't, if anything goes wrong.
Justin Schoeman

ZU-FSR (Raven)
User avatar
happyskipper
Tree Tousand
Tree Tousand
Posts: 3751
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 6:55 pm
Closest Airfield: FQNC
Location: In the cloud
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Re: PPL or NPL?

Unread post by happyskipper » Wed May 27, 2015 11:22 pm

Heisan - Thanks, that was one of my concerns. So PPL with an LSA is required?
Mark 8)
AKA "happyslipper", "slappykipper" ... etc.. :lol:
User avatar
heisan
Fife Thousand feet
Fife Thousand feet
Posts: 5569
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Closest Airfield: Rhino Park
Location: Pretoria
Has liked: 29 times
Been liked: 153 times

Re: PPL or NPL?

Unread post by heisan » Thu May 28, 2015 12:29 am

happyskipper wrote:Heisan - Thanks, that was one of my concerns. So PPL with an LSA is required?
Not required, but it could save some hassles in the long run.
Justin Schoeman

ZU-FSR (Raven)
User avatar
happyskipper
Tree Tousand
Tree Tousand
Posts: 3751
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 6:55 pm
Closest Airfield: FQNC
Location: In the cloud
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Re: PPL or NPL?

Unread post by happyskipper » Thu May 28, 2015 10:18 pm

So - lets say I can get approval from Moz DCA to fly my 'plane in Mozambique with a NPL, would it be easier, cheaper and less hassle to the the NPL? bearing in mind I should have no problem passing the PPL or NPL exams or skills test??

As per my original question, would the NPL also be looked upon as a re validation, or would I have to do the entire NPL from scratch.?
Mark 8)
AKA "happyslipper", "slappykipper" ... etc.. :lol:
User avatar
paulw
Fower Tousand
Fower Tousand
Posts: 4491
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:48 pm
Closest Airfield: Galway Airport
Location: Galway
Has liked: 34 times
Been liked: 31 times

Re: PPL or NPL?

Unread post by paulw » Fri May 29, 2015 6:47 am

Just my 2c.

Personally I will just go for the PPL. Then if you also want to fly at night (with rating) or take 2 PAX instead of 1, you can do it.
The additional few hours you "may" (if required) have to fly to get the PPL renewed is in my view worth it.

I know you are talking about a renewal, but take a look at if you do a PPL or NPL from scratch, you need to do 10 hours more for PPL and a bit longer X-country.
You will fly those additional hours anyway, so why not just take an instructor with and get the extra knowledge and experience?
Yes, the exams are a bit more difficult I heard, but if so, it is only to your own benefit as you fly in the same aircraft if you fly LSA and same airspace and same aerodynamics apply, so why not gain from the extra knowledge?

The benefits in my view out weight getting the license and flying solo quicker.

So I can't help you with your question, but I would just renew PPL.
.
Don't believe what I post, research what I post....
They have a book on how to take my money away? When did this happen......
User avatar
WILDTHING
Heli Pilot agrees to buy Super.
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 9:32 am
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 1 time

Re: PPL or NPL?

Unread post by WILDTHING » Fri May 29, 2015 9:27 am

Personally I would just call RAASA directly and get first hand answers to such questions.

Regards
Pierre
0845012777
User avatar
happyskipper
Tree Tousand
Tree Tousand
Posts: 3751
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 6:55 pm
Closest Airfield: FQNC
Location: In the cloud
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Re: PPL or NPL?

Unread post by happyskipper » Fri May 29, 2015 8:56 pm

Wildthing - I thought I WAS getting first-hand answers, since I posted in the "Board index ‹ Service Providers ‹ RAASA" section.

Obviously that is not the case. I am living and working in Mozambique, pretty much permanently, and I battle with telephone comms from here. Is there any way of getting RAASA to respond?
Mark 8)
AKA "happyslipper", "slappykipper" ... etc.. :lol:
User avatar
WILDTHING
Heli Pilot agrees to buy Super.
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 9:32 am
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 1 time

Re: PPL or NPL?

Unread post by WILDTHING » Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:08 am

Sure e-mail me.

pierre@raasa.co.za

Return to “RAASA”