TV about to change in SA

Aviation Trivia, Jokes & Humour

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
paulw
Fower Tousand
Fower Tousand
Posts: 4270
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:48 pm
Closest Airfield: Wonderboom
Location: Wonderboom
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 7 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by paulw » Sun Apr 21, 2019 1:29 pm

Are these Aruba's better than the standard TP-Link stuff? I have a TL-PA4010 kit which extend your network via electrical circuit. Plug one into the router and nearest power socket and another somewhere else and from that unit a LAN cable into PC/Laptop. Works great.

And another Netgear AC1200 which I haven't tried yet. :oops:
.
Don't believe what I post, research what I post....
They have a book on how to take my money away? When did this happen......
User avatar
cage
Niner Tousand
Niner Tousand
Posts: 9574
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:47 am
Closest Airfield: FAGC
Location: ..for the grass 35
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 114 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by cage » Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:10 pm

Ethernet over power is spotty at best.
I have 2 x 1gb tp link adapters I can't give away.
Run cables to proper access points with PoE to power them.
The high end (controlled based) meshed access points from TP link aren't bad, cost effective.
Decent wifi needs a mesh with some form of intelligence to manage connectivity.
Consumer products that function independently of each other just don't provide a good experience.
User avatar
Christo
Seven Thousand
Seven Thousand
Posts: 7736
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 11:01 am
Location: Pretoria
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 12 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by Christo » Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:27 pm

paulw wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2019 1:29 pm
Are these Aruba's better than the standard TP-Link stuff? I have a TL-PA4010 kit which extend your network via electrical circuit. Plug one into the router and nearest power socket and another somewhere else and from that unit a LAN cable into PC/Laptop. Works great.

And another Netgear AC1200 which I haven't tried yet. :oops:
Keep in mind each of my AP'S are about R12K. One act as a controller and they all work together in the end As cage say individual AP in a house will rather interfere with each other giving you a worse experience.
Due to the price increase in ammunition, do not expect a warning shot.

Sig Sauer, kinda like Glock except for men.
User avatar
cage
Niner Tousand
Niner Tousand
Posts: 9574
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:47 am
Closest Airfield: FAGC
Location: ..for the grass 35
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 114 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by cage » Sun Apr 21, 2019 3:06 pm

Christo wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:27 pm
paulw wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2019 1:29 pm
Are these Aruba's better than the standard TP-Link stuff? I have a TL-PA4010 kit which extend your network via electrical circuit. Plug one into the router and nearest power socket and another somewhere else and from that unit a LAN cable into PC/Laptop. Works great.

And another Netgear AC1200 which I haven't tried yet. :oops:
Keep in mind each of my AP'S are about R12K. One act as a controller and they all work together in the end As cage say individual AP in a house will rather interfere with each other giving you a worse experience.
You got ripped off.
There was a buy 3 get 5 special for 300 series 12k all in.
I do get to buy at cost though.
User avatar
paulw
Fower Tousand
Fower Tousand
Posts: 4270
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:48 pm
Closest Airfield: Wonderboom
Location: Wonderboom
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 7 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by paulw » Sun Apr 21, 2019 10:08 pm

cage wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2019 3:06 pm
Christo wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:27 pm
paulw wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2019 1:29 pm
Are these Aruba's better than the standard TP-Link stuff? I have a TL-PA4010 kit which extend your network via electrical circuit. Plug one into the router and nearest power socket and another somewhere else and from that unit a LAN cable into PC/Laptop. Works great.

And another Netgear AC1200 which I haven't tried yet. :oops:
Keep in mind each of my AP'S are about R12K. One act as a controller and they all work together in the end As cage say individual AP in a house will rather interfere with each other giving you a worse experience.
You got ripped off.
There was a buy 3 get 5 special for 300 series 12k all in.
I do get to buy at cost though.
Yoh! Expensive stuff......my experience is very limited in the wireless field. Some, but not a lot....
.
Don't believe what I post, research what I post....
They have a book on how to take my money away? When did this happen......
User avatar
cage
Niner Tousand
Niner Tousand
Posts: 9574
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:47 am
Closest Airfield: FAGC
Location: ..for the grass 35
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 114 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by cage » Mon Apr 22, 2019 9:57 am

paulw wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2019 10:08 pm
Yoh! Expensive stuff......my experience is very limited in the wireless field. Some, but not a lot....
Wireless is a lot like designing airspace for aircraft - it takes a lot of planning and tech to work properly.
There is quite a difference between consumer products and access points that are designed for commercial environments, hence the price tag.
Most issues that the average home user has is poor coverage and poor transitions from one AP to another.
I made sure my coverage was seamless, so whether I'm down the driveway or in the garden (or anyway in between) I have good coverage.
Considering how poor cell coverage is here, this means I can use vodacom's vowifi service for routing calls over wifi so I get perfect quality calls, with no stuttering or dropped calls.
It's difficult to do that with consumer gear.
User avatar
Roger
Seven Thousand
Seven Thousand
Posts: 7362
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 3:46 pm
Closest Airfield: FAPE
Location: Port Elizabeth
Has liked: 40 times
Been liked: 107 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by Roger » Fri May 03, 2019 5:07 pm

Well he did more than cable cut :lol:
Don’t take things for granted… Tomorrow is not promised.
User avatar
cage
Niner Tousand
Niner Tousand
Posts: 9574
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:47 am
Closest Airfield: FAGC
Location: ..for the grass 35
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 114 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by cage » Fri May 03, 2019 5:22 pm

Roger wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 5:07 pm
Well he did more than cable cut :lol:
5 bucks says it was a spare decoder :lol:
User avatar
MadMacs
Too Tousand
Too Tousand
Posts: 2290
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 3:41 pm
Closest Airfield: GRJ
Location: On my bed
Has liked: 142 times
Been liked: 25 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by MadMacs » Fri May 03, 2019 5:47 pm

What about these

Image
The closest I get to flying these days is when I put my cellphone in 'flight mode'.
User avatar
cage
Niner Tousand
Niner Tousand
Posts: 9574
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:47 am
Closest Airfield: FAGC
Location: ..for the grass 35
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 114 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by cage » Mon May 06, 2019 11:41 am

MadMacs wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 5:47 pm
What about these
That's just a digital TV decoder, so it picks up the free to air SA TV channels that are being broadcast digitally.
If you like SABC go for it.
These users liked the author cage for the post:
MadMacs
User avatar
MadMacs
Too Tousand
Too Tousand
Posts: 2290
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 3:41 pm
Closest Airfield: GRJ
Location: On my bed
Has liked: 142 times
Been liked: 25 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by MadMacs » Mon May 06, 2019 4:55 pm

cage wrote:
Mon May 06, 2019 11:41 am
MadMacs wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 5:47 pm
What about these
That's just a digital TV decoder, so it picks up the free to air SA TV channels that are being broadcast digitally.
If you like SABC go for it.
Thanks Cage, I was on my laptop when I posted the link above and suddenly half the laptop keys stopped working, so I couldn't ask a more detailed question but you answered d it pretty well. I was hoping that it might pick up some free movie channels :D
The closest I get to flying these days is when I put my cellphone in 'flight mode'.
User avatar
paulw
Fower Tousand
Fower Tousand
Posts: 4270
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:48 pm
Closest Airfield: Wonderboom
Location: Wonderboom
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 7 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by paulw » Mon May 06, 2019 9:53 pm

MadMacs wrote:
Mon May 06, 2019 4:55 pm
cage wrote:
Mon May 06, 2019 11:41 am
MadMacs wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 5:47 pm
What about these
That's just a digital TV decoder, so it picks up the free to air SA TV channels that are being broadcast digitally.
If you like SABC go for it.
Thanks Cage, I was on my laptop when I posted the link above and suddenly half the laptop keys stopped working, so I couldn't ask a more detailed question but you answered d it pretty well. I was hoping that it might pick up some free movie channels :D
Well it do provide free movies if you like eTV.
The Amo Digital TV Receiver is a decoder DVB T2 which allows you to make use of the free digital frequency TV channels at home.
The decoder has 11 different free local channels which are SABC Sports, SABC1, SABC2, SABC3, SABC NEWS, Parliament, eTV, eXTRA, eMOVIES+, eTOONZ, eBELLA and 19 local radio :SA FM , Metro FM ,Thobela FM , 5FM ,Lotus FM , Umlobo Wenene , Ukhozi FM , Channel Africa , Good hope , Radio 2000 ,RSG , x-k FM , Tru FM , Ikwekwezi Fm , Phalaphala FM , Ligwalagwala FM , Munghana Lonene FM , Lesedi FM , Motsweding FM .
The Amo Digital TV Decoder DVB T2 does not need a satellite dish, it uses a normal TV antenna, preferably outdoor antennas. With the added USB port, you are able to connect external mass storage devices, also allow you to use the PVR functionality that lets you PAUSE, RECORD, and REPLAY, live TV. similarly, we have different products with the same tv channels and Radio Station
Its the same as Openview which cost about R400 and then you have free channels. I bought this for my mother-in-law when she was still alive. Use same dish and setup as for DSTV or the other satellite used for TopTV.
.
Don't believe what I post, research what I post....
They have a book on how to take my money away? When did this happen......
User avatar
snoopy
Power off stall
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 4:02 pm
Closest Airfield: FASH
Has liked: 7 times
Been liked: 3 times

Re: TV about to change in SA

Unread post by snoopy » Tue May 07, 2019 3:15 pm

OPenView doesnt need any form of card to operate the decoder, AMO decoder still seems to use a card, with OVHD you just plug in the decoder to the dish and HDMI monitor or TV, and run the set-up once...end of story. Free for the rest of your life. And it uses the same sat as DeSteevee uses for their transmissions, so it will work anywhere on earth within that same sat footprint. :wink:

Remind me again why anyone in SA should be paying a license fee to a corrupt SOE, for free to view channels which broadcast across Africa, where anyone in other countries can watch exactly the same sat channels for free.
These users liked the author snoopy for the post:
MadMacs
Vivere come se mai dovessimo morire

Return to “123.45”