RV-8 BUILD: Empennage almost complete - wing kit ordered
Moderator: Moderators
-
- 1k poster
- Closest Airfield: FASD
RV-8 BUILD: Empennage almost complete - wing kit ordered
Hi all,
I have decided to bite the bullet and start with a RV build. I have decided on the RV-8, as I want this to be my personal "fighter", because of its tandem seating and its sexy looks.
Although still in the very early stages of the build, I have acquired the necessary tools (thanks Juri!) and also sourced an untouched RV-8 empennage kit locally.
I will be building it in stages, starting off with the tail, and continue as my time (and budget) allows. Note that I am employed abroad, so building time will be limited, so bear with me, as updates will be slow.
I am very excited and will update as soon as I receive my first shipment of tools and kit
regards
Jacques
I have decided to bite the bullet and start with a RV build. I have decided on the RV-8, as I want this to be my personal "fighter", because of its tandem seating and its sexy looks.
Although still in the very early stages of the build, I have acquired the necessary tools (thanks Juri!) and also sourced an untouched RV-8 empennage kit locally.
I will be building it in stages, starting off with the tail, and continue as my time (and budget) allows. Note that I am employed abroad, so building time will be limited, so bear with me, as updates will be slow.
I am very excited and will update as soon as I receive my first shipment of tools and kit
regards
Jacques
Last edited by Induna on Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:50 am, edited 3 times in total.
Jacques van der Westhuizen
ZS-WSW | Sonerai 2L
ZU-FBA | Sonex Aircraft Waiex
ZS-WSW | Sonerai 2L
-
- 10000 and still climbing
- Closest Airfield: Mossel Bay
Re: RV-8 BUILD: The long journey begins (ALMOST)
Good luck! I envy you but realized years ago that I don't have the ability.
The RV8 is the one I would go for too, the only one, in fact.
Whirly.

The RV8 is the one I would go for too, the only one, in fact.

Whirly.
Not every home needs a dog but every dog needs a home.
-
- 1k poster
Thanks! Yes, I like both the 4 & 8, but the 8 is more advanced as it have pre-punched holes, so it reduces build-time and it ensures a straight aircraft.Whirly wrote:Good luck! I envy you but realized years ago that I don't have the ability.![]()
The RV8 is the one I would go for too, the only one, in fact.![]()
Whirly.
I am a taildragger fan (and most of my hours are TD), so naturally I will build the TD version. (i think it's wrong to build a tri-gear RV-8...

Any suggestions or areas in the tail kit that are problematic in building, please share your thoughts and experiences.
J
ZS-WSW | Sonerai 2L
-
- 1k poster
- Closest Airfield: Porterville
Installeer SB 14-01-31 nou as jy kan. Sal jou lewe BAIE makliker maak indien jy sou krake kry in die toekomsInduna wrote:
Any suggestions or areas in the tail kit that are problematic in building, please share your thoughts and experiences.
J
Hou ons op hoogte!
L
NC Lambrechts
ZU-CUB
ZS-THX
Phil 4:13
ZU-CUB
ZS-THX
Phil 4:13
-
- 1k poster
Thanks. I think it is included in the tail kit I am getting..lampiesJR wrote:Installeer SB 14-01-31 nou as jy kan. Sal jou lewe BAIE makliker maak indien jy sou krake kry in die toekomsInduna wrote:
J
Hou ons op hoogte!
L

J
ZS-WSW | Sonerai 2L
-
- Frequent AvComer
- Closest Airfield: RhinoPark
Ja nee het geweet!
Baie geluk en geniet dit Jacques! Weet die een gaan ook net so mooi wees soos die voriges.

Flying feeds the soul!
-
- Straight and Level
- Closest Airfield: WRF - WESKUS
- Has thanked: 0
- Been thanked: 0
Hi Jacques,
Congrats met die RV 8. Het ook onlangs a RV 4 gekoop Vlieg lekker, Oja dis a Hanger 9 30cc RV4.
Het nav lights alles in gesit en hy vlieg leker, dag en in die Nag. Sal kom inloor as die bakkie daar sein.
Lekker Bou
JB
Congrats met die RV 8. Het ook onlangs a RV 4 gekoop Vlieg lekker, Oja dis a Hanger 9 30cc RV4.

Lekker Bou
JB
Skymaster 1/6 F4
Skymaster Avante XL
Jetlegend Mirage F1 1/5
Jetlegend Yak 130 1/4
Top Rc T28 Trojan 150cc moki
Hanger 9 Bronco A10
CY Cessna 310
Airworld Seafury 250cc Moki
Jeti Duplex 24ch
WRC - WESKUS Radio Control
Skymaster Avante XL
Jetlegend Mirage F1 1/5
Jetlegend Yak 130 1/4
Top Rc T28 Trojan 150cc moki
Hanger 9 Bronco A10
CY Cessna 310
Airworld Seafury 250cc Moki
Jeti Duplex 24ch
WRC - WESKUS Radio Control
-
- 1k poster
Re: RV-8 BUILD: The long journey began
Hi
I got some work done on the horizontal stabilizer. Fit, match drill, debur, dimpel, primed and final assembly in progress.
Pics to follow..
I got some work done on the horizontal stabilizer. Fit, match drill, debur, dimpel, primed and final assembly in progress.
Pics to follow..
ZS-WSW | Sonerai 2L
-
- 1k poster
So,
i have completed the horizontal stabilizer and I am very happy with the results. It came out beautifully, not issues and the surface finish is great!
Here are a few pics. I have also done the SB on the front spar attachments.
i have completed the horizontal stabilizer and I am very happy with the results. It came out beautifully, not issues and the surface finish is great!
Here are a few pics. I have also done the SB on the front spar attachments.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ZS-WSW | Sonerai 2L
-
- Frequent AvComer
- Closest Airfield: FAWB

Hans de Beer
AME A and H
PPL A and H
RV8 ZU-KEA
Aviat Husky ZS-MEN
AME A and H
PPL A and H
RV8 ZU-KEA
Aviat Husky ZS-MEN
-
- 1k poster
UPDATE: The Horizontal stabilizer has been build and internally primed.
Some pics..
Some pics..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ZS-WSW | Sonerai 2L
-
- 1k poster
UPDATE: Rudder has been built. The most challenging part was rolling the leading edges...
Pics below..
ZS-WSW | Sonerai 2L
-
- Niner Tousand
- Closest Airfield: FYWH
.....them rivets looks nice and flush!
In God I trust. The masses are never right, the minority are sometimes right, but the truth is always right.
“One good teacher in a lifetime may sometimes change a delinquent into a solid citizen.” — Philip Wylie
-
- 1k poster
Agree. The flush rivets creates a beautiful surface finish..
ZS-WSW | Sonerai 2L
-
- Frequent AvComer
- Closest Airfield: FAWB
Looking good J
Hans de Beer
AME A and H